Our members’ concert on 8th May 2017

Dear ECMC Member or Friend,

Our next concert is going to be a fascinating mixed bag and we hope to see more members there.

But first – could anyone take over the website for the time being?

Now for the concert on 8th May. Do bring your own programme, which is available for download here.

To start with, Liz Sharma, our resident composer and actually by far the most frequently performed composer in the Club, plays one of her most recent works. “Play it again” was commissioned by her publisher in March this year as a set of three short pieces based on dance rhythms, originally for two oboes. At Hilary’s request she arranged it for the narrower compass of two recorders, treble and tenor. The three items are

  1. Repeat after me,
  2. To Tango and
  3. Samba.

Next we have two instruments new to the Club, and mandolin and the mandola. Stuart McGowan and John Maw present a sequence of eight duets, the first six of which have been arranged by Stuart. These are:

  • Brasileirinho by Waldyr Azevedo, (b.1923)
  • Calabrisella Mia, trad Italian,

The next four are from a Mexican collection called “Danzones Yucatecos.”

  • A mi Blance by M.Mendez C,
  • A mi Negra by M.Mendez C,
  • Holda by J. M. Vargas,
  • La Union by J. M. Vargas,
  • El Morenito from Suite Venezolano by by Jose A. Zambrano (b. 1965)
  • Duetto V by Antonio Riggieri. (fl.1780)

The Mandolin has a long and venerable history as a plucked string counterpart to the violin, being tuned the same, but double-strung, and played with a plectrum. The mandola bears a similar resemblance to the viola, though some, like John’s are tuned an octave lower than the mandolin. Stuart McGowan and John Maw formed “Duo Diapason”, a mandolin and mandola duo, when they met during meetings of the Plucked Ensemble Masterclass, coached by the distinguished mandolinist, Travis Finch. Stuart and John have performed together in the London Mandolin Ensemble and the London Mandolin Quartet and ‘Duo Diapason’ have given several independent recitals in the London area.

The third item is a rare treat from Deni Teo with Sarah Park, the first movement from the Shostakovich Cello Sonata Op.40. This was one of Dmitri Shostakovich’s early works, composed in 1934 just prior to the censure by Soviet authorities of his music, notably the opera Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk, which was deemed too bourgeois and decadent for the Soviet people. It was also a period of emotional turmoil in his life, as he had fallen in love with a young student at a Leningrad festival featuring his Lady Macbeth. Their affair resulted in a brief divorce from his wife Nina, and it was in August, during their period of separation, that he wrote the cello sonata, completing it within a few weeks and giving its premiere in Moscow on 25 December with his close friend, the cellist Viktor Kubatsky, who was also the piece’s dedicatee. By the next autumn Shostakovich and Nina had remarried,

Finally, Li Lin Teo returns to complete the Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2, with the 3rd Movement, Allegro scherzando. This time the orchestra is represented by a piano duo, Deni Teo and Benjamin Mellefont. This mighty work needs no recommendation from me and will make a splendid conclusion to the evening.

Do come, and bring your programme with you.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s